Maryland Law Review

With volume one dating back to 1936, the Maryland Law Review is the oldest journal at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law and the pre-eminent student authority on developments in Maryland case law in the State of Maryland. Ranked among the top tier of national law reviews, the Maryland Law Review is also a respected voice on federal law in the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

The Law Review publishes four issues annually. These issues contain scholarly work by professors, practitioners, and judges in the traditional law review format. The Law Review also publishes legal symposia scholarship.

Current Issue: Volume 78, Issue 1 (2018)

Front Matter



The Perils of Philanthrocapitalism
Eric Franklin Amarante


The Error Theory of Contract
Matthew A. Seligman

Editorial Board Volume 78, 2018-2019

Editor in Chief
  • Alexandra A. Botsaris
Managing Editor
  • Caroline A. Covington
Executive Articles Editor
  • Charles M. Kassir
Executive Notes and Comments Editor
  • Sarah M. Samaha
Executive Symposium/Articles Editor
  • Meredith A. Storm
Manuscripts Editor
  • Alissa N. Portner
  • Issac D. Schabes
Senior Online Articles Editor
  • Conor Daly
Articles Editors
  • John D. Feliccia
  • Jaclyn Fonteyne
  • Sara Y. Lucas
  • Daniel W. Rogers
  • Sarah M. Shepson
Notes and Comments Editors
  • Kara N. Achilihu
  • Brendan Kelly
  • Emily K. Kelsay
  • Rebecca W. Lineberry
  • Adrienne Thomas
Associate Editors
  • Maureen Hartshorn
  • Andrew Keogh
  • Daniel E. Larkins
  • Thornton McKinney
  • Lauren Fields
  • Peggy Ramin
  • Avatara A. Smith-Carrington
  • Benjamin P. Stoyenko
Staff Members
  • Dan Baker
  • Gina R. Bohannon
  • Samantha M. Burgess
  • Victoria Dohler
  • Lauren Fash
  • Jillian Feirson
  • Kasia Foster
  • Hunter M. Haines
  • Trevor C. Hoffberger
  • Felicia D. Langel
  • Katherine Lekh
  • Jacob Lichtenbaum
  • Amelia Marsden
  • Elizabeth J. McKie
  • Grace O’Malley
  • Alexandra S. Pritchard
  • Fiona Puglese
  • Galen Rende
  • Mary L. Scott
  • Kevin Sforza
  • Kailey Silverstein
  • Bianca Spinosa
  • Andrew G. White
  • Kellyn T. Wilcox
  • Valeriya A. Zavyalova
Faculty Advisors
  • Danielle Keats Citron
  • Lee Kovarsky
Editorial Assistant
  • Jerri C. Shahverdi