In the 1970s, many legal scholars advocated the federalization of corporation law on the theory that the states were engaged in a race of laxity. But ultimately, the Supreme Court confined the reach of federal securities law while the states (particularly Delaware) became much more solicitous of stockholders. In the early 2000s, with the collapse of Enron, Worldcom, and other major corporations, and the passage of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, there has been a resurgence of efforts to impose federal standards on areas of law traditionally left to the states. This conference focuses on this trend, where the law is going, and whether such changes are for the better or worse.

The 2006 Business Law Conference is supported through the generosity of the Association of Securities and Exchange Commission Alumni, Inc. and the Miles & Stockbridge Fund for Excellence in Business Law.

The brochure for the 2006 symposium can be found here.


Subscribe to RSS Feed

Friday, October 13th
9:15 AM

Panel I - Corporate Governance

Frank Balotti, Richards Layton & Finger
Robert Ahdieh, Emory University
Larry Hamermesh, Widener University School of Law
Jennifer Johnson, Lewis & Clark Law School
Brett McDonnell, University of Minnesota Law School
Jennifer O'Hare, Villanova University School of Law

9:15 AM - 9:45 AM

11:00 AM

Panel II: Corporate Finance

John Olson, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher
Richard A. Booth, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
Faith Kahn, New York Law School
Jerry Markham, Florida International University College of Law
Mark Lowenstein, University of Colorado School of Law
Charles Elson, University of Delaware
Julian Velasco, Notre Dame Law School

11:00 AM - 12:30 PM

12:30 PM

Luncheon Address

Jack Jacobs, Delaware Supreme Court

12:30 PM - 2:00 PM

2:15 PM

Panel III - Corporate Practice

Lisa Fairfax, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law
Theresa Gabaldon, George Washington University Law School
Robert Hillman, University of California Davis School of Law
Bruce Kobayashi, George Mason University School of Law
Larry Ribstein, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champain, College of Law
Richard Painter, University of Minnesota Law School
Frank Razzano, Dickstein Shapiro

2:15 PM - 3:30 PM